Matchroom Pool - World Pool Championship

World Pool Championship

April 6-10, 2022 TBC

The World Pool Championship will feature 128 players and will be split into two stages:
June 6-7 Double Elimination Groups (16 groups of 8 players)
June 8-10 Straight Knockout (Last 64 onwards)

Schedule & Draw
The Group Draw for the World Pool Championship will be made during the 2021 World Pool Masters in May. The top 32 players will be automatically drawn into groups based on their seeding. The remaining players will be split into seeded draw pools, with one player from each pool drawn into each group.

Group Stage
Race To 9
Last 64 – Semi-Finals Race To 11
Final Race To 13
All matches are played to a Winner Breaks format

Break & Shot Clock
Balls will be racked with the 1-ball resting on the spot, and a 30-second shot-clock will be in operation on all tables.

2021Albin Ouschan
Milton Keynes, England
2019Fedor Gorst
Doha, Qatar
2018Joshua Filler
Doha, Qatar
2017Carlo Biado
Doha, Qatar
2016Albin Ouschan
Doha, Qatar
2015Ko Pin-Yi
Doha, Qatar
2014Niels Feijen
Doha, Qatar
2013Thorsten Hohmann
Doha, Qatar
2012Darren Appleton
Doha, Qatar
2011Yukio Akakariyama
Doha, Qatar
2010Francisco Bustamante
Doha, Qatar
2007Daryl Peach
Quezon City, Philippines
2006Ronato Alcano
Pasay, Philippines
2005Wu Chia-ching
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2004Alex Pagulayan
Taipei, Taiwan
2003Thorsten Hohmann
Cardiff, Wales
2002Earl Strickland
Cardiff, Wales
2001Mika Immonen
Cardiff, Wales
2000Chao Fong-pang
Cardiff, Wales
1999Nick Varner
Alicante, Spain
1999Efren Reyes
Cardiff, Wales
1998Takahashi Kunihiko
Taipei, Taiwan
1997Johnny Archer
Chicago, United States
1996Ralf Souquet
Borlänge, Sweden
1995Oliver Ortmann
Taipei, Taiwan
1994Okumura Takeshi
Chicago, United States
1993Chao Fong-pang
Königswinter, Germany
1992Johnny Archer
Taipei, Taiwan
1991Earl Strickland
Las Vegas, United States
1990Earl Strickland
Bergheim, Germany


June 6-7

June 8-9

June 10

The World Pool Championship will be shown live on TV networks as listed below. In countries not listed below, the event will be available live on Matchroom.Live

Sky Sports | UK & Ireland
DAZN | USA, Canada, Brazil, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Spain
Fox Sports | Australia
NTV TV | Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan
Nova | Czech Rep & Slovakia
RTL | Netherlands
Sky | New Zealand
Sportklub | Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo, and Slovenia
Supersport | South Africa & Africa
Viasat | Scandinavia
Viaplay | Baltics
Viaplay | Iceland