World-class line up set for York Hall showdown

World-class line up set for York Hall showdown

With the annual World Cup of Pool coming back to London this September, Matchroom Sport can announce the 32 teams and players set to contest the annual $250,000 pairs tournament. Taking place at pool’s fiercest venue, the York Hall in Bethnal Green, the World Cup runs from Tuesday 22nd to 27th September.

Defending champions are England A with Karl Boyes and Darren Appleton looking to become the first pair to successfully defend their crown. Competition will be tough though, with a host of previous winners and finalists taking part.

Germany will be represented by 2011 champions Thorsten Hohmann and Ralf Souquet and 2012 winners Mika Immonen and Petri Makkonen (Finland) will be once again taking part. America’s Shane Van Boening, a winner with Rodney Morris in 2008, is paired with Mike Dechaine this time, while Li Hewen, a two-time winner in 2007 and 2010 will be partnered by Liu Haitao as they make a run for title number three for China.

Holland, desperately unlucky to be runners up in 2013 and 2014, will be looking to go one better as Niels Feijen and Nick Van den Berg team up once again. Daryl Peach and Mark Gray, who came so close for England in 2008, will also be trying to repeat those performances.

Other highly fancied teams include the Philippines which pairs former World No.1 Carlo Biado with under-rated Warren Kiamco and Taiwan – World 10 Ball champion Ko Pin Yi and Chang Yu Lung. Team Austria will also fancy their chances as World No.1 Albin Ouschan and Mario He pair up one again.

2015 World Cup of Pool Teams

Europe (17)

Austria – Albin Ouschan & Mario He

Belgium – Serge Das & Olivier Mortier

Czech Republic – Roman Hybler & Michal Gavenciak

England A – Darren Appleton & Karl Boyes

England B – Mark Gray & Daryl Peach

Estonia – Dennis Grabe & Erki Erm

Finland – Mika Immonen & Petri Makkonen

France – Stephan Cohen & Alex Montpelier

Germany – Ralf Souquet & Thorsten Hohmann

Greece – Nikos Ekonomopoulos & Alexander Kazakis

Holland – Niels Feijen & Nick van den Berg

Italy – Danieli Corrieri & Antonio Benvenuto

Poland – Mateusz Sniegocki & Wojciech Szewczyk

Romania – Babken Melkonyan & Ioan Ladanyi

Russia – Ruslan Chinakhov & Konstantin Stepanov

Spain – Francisco Diaz-Pizarro & Francisco Sanchez Ruiz

Sweden – Marcus Chamat & Christian Sparrenloev-Fischer


Rest of World (6)

Australia – Robby Foldvari & Chris Calabrese

Canada – Jason Klatt & John Morra

New Zealand – Matt Edwards & Nick Pera

Peru – Cristopher Tevez & Manuel Chau

Qatar – Waleed Majid & Bashar Hussain

USA – Shane Van Boening & Mike Dechaine


Asia (9)

China – Li Hewen & Liu Haitao

India – Raj Hundal & Amar Kang

Indonesia – Muhammad Simanjuntak & Irsal Nasution

Japan – Naoyuki Oi & Toru Kuribayashi

Korea – Jeong Young Hwa & Ryu Seung Wu

Malaysia – Ibrahim Bin Amir & AN Other

Philippines – Carlo Biado & Warren Kiamco

Singapore – Aloysius Yapp & Chan Keng Kwang

Taiwan – Ko Pin Yi & Chang Yu Lung

Commencing on Tuesday 22nd and culminating in the final on the evening of Sunday 27th, the event will be played to a single elimination format over six days with two sessions a day.

There are 31 matches in total.

Tickets are now on sale at and are priced at £10.00 per evening session (Tuesday to Friday), £12.50 per evening session on the Saturday and Sunday. Weekend afternoon sessions are £7.50 while Tuesday to Friday afternoons are free!

A season ticket covering all sessions is priced at £65.00.

The World Cup of Pool will carry a $250,000 prize fund including $60,000 for the champions. The event will be produced by Matchroom Sport Television and televised live on Sky Sports and then syndicated internationally as 31 x 1 hour programmes.

Diamond Billiards are the Official Table of the 2015 World Cup of Pool; the Official Cloth is supplied by Iwan Simonis and the Official Balls are Super Aramith. The Official Cue, Chalk and Rest are supplied by Predator.



Sponsors and Partners