Front Runners set out their stalls

Front Runners set out their stalls

THE RACE FOR the three automatic spots on 2015 European PartyPoker Mosconi Cup team is well underway with two events on the nine event series having recently completed. Like last year, there are three separate ranking lists in operation – the first comprised of a five event Euro Tour series; the second a four event ‘World’ series and the last a combined ranking of the two.

Last year’s MVP Niels Feijen (Holland) leads on the Euro Tour list, having won the Treviso Open in Italy at the weekend. Spain’s David Alcaide, a European team member in 2006, heads up both the ‘World’ list and the ‘Combined’ list, after reaching the last four of the recent WPA World 10 Ball Championship in the Philippines.

At the close of the qualification series in October, the No.1 ranked player on each of the three lists will be named as part of Team Europe as they look to defend their title in Las Vegas from 7th to 10th December.

In the event that a player tops all three ranking lists, then the second placed players on the Euro Tour and World Rankings respectively would take the other two spots. If a player is top of the Euro Tour list and Combined list, or World list and Combined list, then the available spot would go to the next highest player on the Combined list not already qualified.

The next event is the Portugal Open which runs from 23-25 April and that is followed by the

German Open in early June.

Euro Tour Ranking (after one event)


1          Niels Feijen (NED)              20

2          Nick Malai (GRE)               16

3          Karl Boyes (ENG)              12

4          Mario He (AUT)                  12

T5       Marco Teutscher (NED )        9

T5       Oliver Ortmann (GER)           9

T5       Petri Makkonen (FIN)           9

T5       Ralf Souquet (GER)              9

T9       Pierfrancesco Garzia (ITA)    6

T9       David Alcaide (SPA)             6

T9       Juan Carlos Exposito (SPA)   6

T9       Bruno Muratore (ITA)              6

T9       N. Ekonomopoulos (GRE)    6

T9       Denis Grabe (EST)               6

T9       Philipp Stojanovic (CRO)       6

T9       Mark Grey (ENG)                 6

World Ranking (after one event)


1         David Alcaide (ESP)          20

T2       Marcus Chamat (SWE)     10

T2       Ruslan Chinakov (RUS)     10

T2       Mieszko Fortunski (POL)  10

T2       Radoslaw Babica (POL)    10

T6       Darren Appleton (ENG)       5

T6       Karl Boyes (ENG)               5

T6       Petri Makkonen (FIN)         5

Combined Ranking (after two events)


1     David Alcaide (ESP)             26

2     Niels Feijen (NED)               20

3     Karl Boyes (ENG)                 17

4     Nick Malai (GRE)                  16

5     Petri Makkonen (FIN)          14

T6   Marcus Chamat (SWE)        13

T6   Ruslan Chinakhov (RUS)     13

8     Mario He (AUT)                    12

T9   Mieszko Fortunski (POL)     10

T9   Radoslaw Babica (POL)       10

Follow the PartyPoker Mosconi Cup on Facebook and Twitter @mosconicup

2015 PARTYPOKER Mosconi Cup is sponsored by PartyPoker, the world’s leading online poker site. The Official Table of the Mosconi Cup is supplied by Diamond Billiards, the cloth is supplied by Iwan Simonis and the Official Balls are Super Aramith by Saluc. Predator is the Official Cue of the event

Sponsors and Partners